Resuming an Old Road Trip

Twenty-four years ago, I embarked on an adventure. It started when the wilderness program director at my boarding school invited me to assemble a group of peers to spend the day doing a low and high ropes course at the Santa Fe Mountain Center. It was my first foray into formal leadership and group dynamics work, and it set me down a path that I have pursued off and on ever since – learning about leadership, intentionally developing my own leadership repretoire, and helping others develop as leaders.

I’ve had a lot of great experiences on my travels through the world of leadership. Some of them were planned, like the summer I spent facilitating a low ropes and my participation in the Gardner Carney Leadership Institute. Others were much more spur-of-the-moment, like my volunteering to coordinate prefect training without really thinking about how much work would be involved. Like any good road trip, I’ve had a general plan but have always looked for scenic detours, and I’ve rarely been disappointed with where I’ve been or what I’ve done.

A couple weeks ago, I was offered the opportunity to start a new leg of my trip through the world of leadership. In addition my other responsibilities, I will now be the Student Leadership Programs Coordinator at The Hill School. In this newly-created position, I’ll have the opportunity to work with students and colleagues to advance our current leadership development work, create new programs and activities, and blend it all into a comprehensive leadership program that will define our students’ experiences as we pursue the School’s mission to help them “be prepared to lead as citizens of the world, uniquely guided by our motto, ‘Whatsoever Things Are True.'”

So, here I go again. I’m in the planning stages, looking at possible routes to our destination and things I want to see along the way. I’ll do my best to share my plans here as they develop, and I look forward to the on-going feedback and support of those who are traveling with me or just following from afar. 

Leave a Reply

